Assalamualaikum everyone!

I hope you all are well by the grace of Allah ☻

I apologize that I didn’t post for a week, studies have been a killer this semester.

Today I am posting about all of those who are trying to integrate hijab into the western culture.

To fit in, we take many steps. We make a lot of changes to our exterior and interior to blend in. However didn’t you know that we are supposed to be set apart? Don’t be like society. We are different, and we should love the way we are different.

Specifically, hijab should not be altered for you to blend in with society. I understand, sometimes it’s uncomfortable to be the odd one out, but your hijab should not suffer the consequences of you wanting to be like those around you. Embrace your uniqueness, your unique religion.

The other day I saw a video that was circulating Tumblr, there were a lot of hijabis, they were singing and dancing, spreading a message about feminism.  Many reblogs came through it, but I was not intrigued. I was disappointed. Is this what it has come to? We have to dance in front of a camera to get our message across? Show the world that we are normal? Not a good approach. Remember the objective of the hijab, it’s modesty. Dancing is not modest. Dancing in front of a camera is not modest. Furthermore, we should not strive to be normal. We are different by our faith and that is beautiful.

My loves, we are different. Please love the difference. Allah likes for us to be different than others. We come as strangers and we go as strangers. Islam came as something strange to the world.

An example of what I mean by we should stand out is:

Bukhari :: Book 7 :: Volume 72 :: Hadith 786

Narrated Abu Huraira :

The Prophet said, “Jews and Christians do not dye their hair so you should do the opposite of what they do.”

May we never alter our religion to please people, ameen.

Note: I am not stating that all those who wear hijab differently and act “differently” do it to fit in or please society, however, this is the majority of the case.

✧ Dania

