Hello and Assalamualaikum!

*Disclaimer: Don’t get offended, I don’t judge based on if you listen to music or not.*

Music was a daily part of my life, I would listen to it everywhere. Studying? Gotta put on music. Riding a car? Gotta put on music. Cleaning? Gotta put  on music. Music made things more enjoyable and it relaxed my mood. Through music, I expressed myself. The words I could never say to anyone, the feelings, the experiences, all expressed in this beautiful song. How could I ever tell anyone that this is how I feel? Yet, this song understands me completely. How I loved music.

I would go on twitter and tweet artists “you’re song is just what I needed, thank you,” to show my appreciation of their work and to show that music affected me so positively. I heard here and there that music was haram, but I thought I’m not listening to anything sinful, how can this be wrong? How can something that makes me feel good be wrong? As long as I listen to music that doesn’t go against the words of Allah, I’m good. Boy was I wrong! Positive impact? Haha okay, I was naive  back then. I see it now, how Allah saved me from the horrors of music.

As you could tell, I was pretty engaged with music. But what happened was that despite the fact that I would console myself by how could this be wrong? I knew music had to leave my life. I would stand up to pray, I would be reciting verses but the back of my head would be playing songs. I knew that if I wanted focus in my salah, music had to go. So I did it, I cut off the music.

Fast forward, I started realizing how music impacted me so negatively. I would wish to go to concerts, I wanted concerts so badly. But I never was able to go, and I would be devastated when I knew my favorite artists are in town, but here I am on my laptop, not being able to catch a glimpse of them. But now I see, all that money, for who? For someone who doesn’t even know your name? Why waste so much money on that? How ridiculous, don’t you think? Why should I spend hundreds of dollars for you? For a night that won’t matter in 10 years? What am I going to get? Not even a dua. If you want to spend so much money on a person, at least spend it someone who can give you a dua.

Recently, the superbowl passed by. It’s been about 2 years since I left music. My mother opened the T.V. and there was Lady Gaga performing. Interested, I bobbed my head up from my laptop, and it was horrific. I was appalled. Look at all these people, they’re losing their heads! Why? Why are you going so crazy for this person? All that money, the fans, the crazy outfits, the sold out stadium, the cost of tickets, it looked like hell to me. All that fitna. Then I thought, wow I used to be like those fans losing my head over just another person, why are we making them more worthy than they are? You may not see it, but it was as if the fans were worshipping lady gaga. Insane. All that money could’ve gone for a good cause, but people “just want some fun.” Well…Selfish much? You can still have fun without spending a luxurious amount of money.

I thought, Alhumdulilah. Imagine all the money I would’ve spent on these people, and all the sad nights I would’ve gone through if I didn’t quit music. Alhumdulilah I am saved of satans’ trap for thinking we need all this entertainment and that this entertainment is great. That I should focus and give time and energy into these things. It has been normalized, the extravagance of the music industry, but take a step back, woah man. It’s ridiculous, it truly is. It’s upsetting how this is what we worry about. A great example was Beyonce’s pregnancy announcement. Everyone was so focused on that, they did not notice the important things going on that very day the pregnancy was announced. People were suffering, and if we could give all the enthusiasm we had for Beyonce’s pregnancy for real causes, we could change the world.

My final stance, we all know what the illuminati is. Let’s face it, we all know that most of the people who are famous are part of this organization. If you look closely at song lyrics and music videos, you can often see the hints of illuminati presence. If you believe there’s no such thing, please go watch documentaries and evaluate how so many people in history died for their good intentions. Contemplate why the entertainment business is so big and influential. Ok, if not, why did stars (hint: they died young) advocate against the illuminati? They were insiders so obviously they knew if the illuminati was real or not, yet they advocated against them. For example, Michael Jackson’s sister says that Michael often said “they’re out to kill me,” and truly believes the illuminati killed her brother. Now Paris Jackson also says that the illuminati killed her father. Tupac spoke out against the illuminati and coined the term killuminati.

The point is, How can you love someone who loves shaitan? How can you love someone who loves your biggest enemy? Actually forget that, how can you love someone who worships the enemy of the One who created you?

As I do not want to make this post super lengthy for your convenience, I will talk about this situation more in part 2! In part 2, I’ll take a more islamic punch at this as part 1 is more personal. I’ll post part 2 either Tuesday or before Tuesday. Stay tuned!

✧ Dania

